Meeting Awards

Best Talk and Best Poster Award

Bring your best work because all presenters will automatically be reviewed for a Best Talk and Best Poster Award. A judging committee will review all presenters on their work and their presentation execution. The winner of each will earn $100 and will be featured in post conference communication and on the website.

Past Awardees for Best Poster Presenter

2019: Jaime Castrellon, Duke University
“Individual differences in dopamine predict self-control of everyday desires”
Jaime Castrellon, David Zald, Gregory Samanez Larkin

2018: Jaime Castrellon, Duke University
“Parsing the role of dopamine in reward discounting and subjective valuation”
Jaime Castrellon, Gregory Samanez-Larkin

2017: Jan Zimmermann, New York University
“Adapting choice behavior and neural value coding in monkey orbitofrontal cortex”
Jan Zimmermann, Paul Glimcher, Kenway Louie

2016: Alireza Soltani, Dartmouth College
“Contributions of neural adaptation to value-based and perceptual choice”
Oihane Horno, Mehran Spitmaan, Alireza Soltani

2015: Alaa Ahmed, University of Colorado Boulder
“Effort, reward, and vigor in decision-making and motor control”
Authors: Reza Shadmehr, Helen Huang, Alaa Ahmed

2014: Cendri Hutcherson, California Institute of Technology
“Ethics or empathy? Different appraisals activate distinct social cognitive brain regions during altruistic choice”
Authors: Cendri Hutcherson & Antonio Rangel

2013: Raphaëlle Abitbol, Pantheon-Sorbonne University
Pre-stimulus brain activity predicts subjective valuation in monkeys and humans? “
Authors: R. Abitbol, M. Lebreton, G. Hollard, B. J. Richmond, S. Bouret, M. Pessiglione

2012: Ian Krajbich, The Ohio State University
“Thinking fast and slow ? The reverse-inference problem with reaction times?”
Authors: I. Krajbich, B. Bartling, T. Hare, E. Fehr

2011: Hilke Plassmann, INSEAD and Cognitive Neuroscience Unit INSERM & Ecole Normale Superieure & University of Toronto
“Is there a common “cost” currency system? Neural correlates of abstract and somatosensory costs during value integration”
Authors: Hilke Plassmann & Nina Mazar

2010: Jeffrey Cockburn, Cognitive, Linguistic and Psychological Sciences, Brown University
“Why (and how much) do we value the freedom to choose? Decision enhances spatial credit assignment in reinforcement learning “
Authors: Jeffrey Cockburn and Michael J. Frank

2014 John Dickhaut Memorial Postdoctoral Fellow Travel Grant

Professor John Dickhaut (1942-2010) was the founding member of the Economic Science Institute at Chapman University, the Jerrold A. Glass Endowed Chair in Accounting and Economics at Chapman University, and a widely respected member of the accounting and economics academic communities. John was one of the pioneers of the field of neuroeconomics and a dear friend to the Society for Neuroeconomics.In 2014, in memory of Professor John Dickhaut’s contributions, the Society awarded travel grants to two Postdoctoral fellows with significant interest in the Economic Sciences. Each grant was in the amount of $800USD. 

2014 Awardees

Jan Engelmann, PhD
Radboud University

Mirre Stallen, PhD
Radboud University

2013  Kavli Fellow Travel Grant

2013 Awardees

Ian Ballard, Stanford University
Aaron Bornstein, New York University
Jaron Colas, California Institute of Technology
Sara Constantino, New York University
Aurelia Crant, Wayne State University
Eustace Hsu, University of Southern California
Roberto Ivo, University of São Paulo
Maria Kalmykova, Saint Petersburg State University
Mel Win Khaw, New York University
Betty Kim-Viechnicki, University of Pennsylvia
Sekoul Krastev, McGill University
Victoria Lee, Duke University
Xi Lei, Tsinghua University
Karolina Lempert, New York University
Christian Rodriguez, Stanford University
Hanan Shteingart, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Nicolette Sullivan, California Institute of Technology
Yong-Jheng Tang, National Taiwan University College of Medicine
James Tee, New York University